BREAKTHROUGH PRIZE



Dear Colleague,

We invite you to nominate for the 2025 Breakthrough Prizes.

The Breakthrough Prize celebrates the great discoveries of our times, and the scientists who make them. It honors those at work in the fields that ask the biggest questions, seek the deepest explanations and have the most profound impact on humanity. The prize also aims to elevate the standing of science and inspire the next generation with an annual ceremony broadcast globally.

The nomination deadline is April 1, 2024. Visit https://breakthroughprize.org for more information and to submit nominations.

Life Sciences Prizes

- 3 Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences (\$3 million each)
- Nominees should have produced transformative results in the last 15 years
- 1 of the prizes is designated for work contributing to the understanding of Parkinson's disease and neurodegenerative disorders
- Group nominations are accepted for nominators wishing to recommend a shared prize for a single breakthrough

Mathematics Prizes

- 1 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics (\$3 million) – for breakthrough achievements in the last 10 years, although earlier contributions may also be considered
- 3 Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prizes (\$50,000 each) – for women mathematicians who have earned PhDs in the previous two years (2022, 2023)
- 3 New Horizons in Mathematics Prizes (\$100,000 each) – for early-career researchers producing important work within 10 years after receiving PhD

Physics Prizes

- 1 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics (\$3 million)

 for major achievements in fundamental physics broadly defined
- 3 New Horizons in Mathematics Prizes (\$100,000 each) – for early-career researchers producing important work within 12 years after receiving PhD (although exceptions can be made, especially in cases of experimental projects with long lead times)
- The physics prizes can be shared by any number of people

We look forward to your participation.

Sincerely,

Huda Zoghbi, Selection Committee Chair Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences

Anda Tago

Christopher Hacon, Selection Committee Chair Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics

Mocor

Juan Maldacena, Selection Committee Chair Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics